Los Angeles Regional Agency

The Los Angeles Regional Agency (LARA) is a consortium of 18 large and small member cities in Los Angeles County. The Agency was formed by environmentally conscious recycling advocates and representatives from these cities.


In 2004, the California Integrated Waste Management Board, now known as CalRecycle, approved the formation of LARA as a regional agency whose mission is to promote environmental responsibility through the state mandated reduce, reuse and recycle philosophy of the State of California Assembly Bill 939.

LARA was formed with 14 charter cities that signed a Joint Powers Agreement (JPA). Since then, it has grown to a total of 18 member cities. LARA Bylaws were adopted in 2004 following approval from CALRecycle, and an Executive Board was established that consists of a Chair, Vice-Chair, Treasurer and Secretary, with LA Sanitation's Solid Resources Citywide Recycling Division Manager serving as the Executive Director.

Per the JPA, the City of Los Angeles is the administrator of the LARA funds. LARA revenue primarily comes from annual dues paid by the cities. Annual membership fees are calculated based on the most current disposal data available.

LARA meetings are held quarterly on the third Thursday of March, June and September, and on the first Thursday in December; meetings are hosted in different member cities.

Los Angeles Regional Agency logo - Reusing Resources Since 2004

LARA Cities


  • Artesia
  • Beverly Hills
  • Bradbury
  • Downey
  • Duarte
  • Hermosa Beach
  • Hidden Hills
  • Los Angeles
  • Lynwood
  • Manhattan Beach
  • Palos Verdes Estates
  • Pomona
  • Rancho Palos Verdes
  • Redondo Beach
  • Rosemead
  • Sierra Madre
  • South Gate
  • Torrance 


 If your city is interested in becoming a member:

City of Los Angeles

Department of Public Works, LA Sanitation (LASAN)

Solid Resources Citywide Recycling Division (SRCRD)